Je suis curieux

IMG_9733

Curiosity is what keeps the world changing and evolving all the time. Without curiosity there wouldn’t be scientists constantly at work trying to prove or disprove theories and there wouldn’t be a need to watch the news and learn what’s happening in the world around us.

Picture this, a young Celene, learning how to talk. I’m grasping the English language, learning to communicate with my family and starting school. But what do I do when I get home from school and my Mum is on the phone and I can’t understand what she’s saying? I go and see my Grandma and all of my Aunts and Uncles are talking amongst one another and I know I can speak, but I can’t understand. These were the defining moments of the beginning of my curiosity with the French language.

Years later, it’s now 2005 and my parents book a trip to my Mum’s island home of Mauritius, once a colony of France. We go, and I am surrounded by people speaking this language that I have been longing to speak, and it’s at this moment that I knew I needed to speak this language.

Since Year 11 at school I have been studying French, I finished my HSC year with a 91 in Beginners French, travelled back to Mauritius to visit my family and was able to understand almost everything and communicate well, much to the surprise of my distant cousins who when meeting me last had no idea what I was saying. This curiosity, which was sparked by an initial communication barrier with my family has now lead to me doing an Arts degree here at university and choosing French as my major.

Leave a Reply

